Job Hunting Spring 2020

What a wonderful year to be alive, to be employed, to be healthy despite a few dozen extra pounds due to increased sitting and staring at screens of all shapes and sizes…. Teaching was not supposed to be a desk job yet, here we are.

My classroom lanai

I didn’t end up taking that job in China. Nor did I take the flashy new school in Doha, with its state-of-the-art facilities. For the sake of ease in the middle of a pandemic, I was just about to take the subbing job when I got a call from a friend….

“There’s a spot on my team that’s open because the teacher can’t get back to Doha. I want you to send your resume to the principal right now.” Sadaf demanded.

Sadaf had made it her mission to find me a job within Qatar. She connected me to two different principals earlier in my search. The interviews had gone well, but they went to other candidates. Sadaf, by the way, was once my neighbor here in Qatar. When I first arrived, I was put in “company housing” which was a compound near the center of everything. My school, however, was an hour away. We ended up moving after a year living there because the commute was just too much. Anyhow, I met her when we 1st arrived and had serious jet lag. We would meet in the hallway between our apartments and let the kids run around at 3 am while we talked and ate delivery food. She had been teaching in Qatar for 9 years and was very happy with her school. I envied her short commute and her love for her work.

As I think back, Sadaf has been looking out for me since day 1, for no particular reason at all! Living across the hall from her meant there was always food being sent over – lentil soup, samosas, rice, etc. When we 1st arrived, we had neither a license, nor the funds, to purchase a car. Sadaf let us use one of her cars as our own! This helped so much with getting the kids to school and daycare, shopping, and site seeing. When I finally had the funds (still no license), I bought the car from her in the easiest car buying transaction ever (using an app on her phone – no DMV visit necessary).

Back to Sadaf. She watched my kids while my husband was in the hospital and sent her Arabic speaking husband to liaison with the medical staff. She was one of the very few people who came to see me after giving birth abroad without my family by my side. She has really been there. Here.

It was now June 2020 and I had actually accepted 3 offers and now I would interview for yet another! in 60 days, I was either going to China, moving into a tiny apartment provided by the flashy Doha school, or staying “on call” as a substitute teacher with a lot less money to juggle.

At that point, I decided to teach an online Musical Theatre Class, because, as long as I wasn’t sure where I’d actually end up, I might as well keep busy! The opportunity came at a time when I was seriously doubting my teaching abilities abroad. What do I have to offer kids here? Turns out, I have a lot to offer! The production was a success despite being completely filmed, edited, and showcased on computer screens! The parents were super grateful that their kids were able to connect through a difficult time for kids around the world. I felt my confidence and love for teaching renewed.

I was a little disappointed when 3 days after the interview I got a, “Thank you for interviewing but we have decided to go with a different candidate.” Bummer. But no biggie. 3 other offers on hand. A few days later the principal emailed me again saying, “So, another teacher has decided not to return to Doha and I’m keen to hire you. Stay tuned!” Well, it wasn’t like I was sleeping soundly anyhow…

When he confirmed a job offer a day later, it hit me that I could not juggle 4 offers – 2 within the same organization! I composed, trashed, and re-composed letters rescinding my acceptance of the three other offers. The idea of letting others down gave me anxiety. How do I have the nerve to accept 3 different jobs knowing full well that I could not fulfill those commitments?

Sounds awful right? No, it’s not. When it comes to work and money, play hard. Go to the helm with each company and take the one with the best offer. I’ve seen too many teachers, women in particular, who settle for jobs because they’re too timid to push for something more. I was almost that woman. I almost settled on spending a few more years at a job that was not treating me well. I almost sucked it up and let them berate me. I almost settled for a subbing position because it was the easiest one to go with. But I also almost took the risk in China, because the pay and benefits would have been the great for my family.

I hashed out all pros and cons of each job with my closest confidents. I got different points of views ranging from “Go with the easiest job and take it easy” to “Do not settle on lower pay just to be a part of a fancy new school” to “Why would you go to China, now?” The only 2 cents that really mattered was from the subbing coordinator who had hired me. While I gave everyone else a flat out “sorry, but I am not coming” I felt I should handle her differently. I worded it more like, “I do have another offer I would like to accept but, if it puts you in a bad position, I will not take it and honor my commitment to you.” Maybe it was because she is a woman and the rest were men, I felt I owed more to her. When she gave her blessing, I leapt for joy!

I accepted the position at a special needs school in Doha, teaching 6th grade homeroom, and it really was the absolute best decision! I had the most amazing year I have had in a long time! Hoping the 2020-2021 school year worked out well for you, wherever you are. And Lord help us in 2022-2022!

The girls and I finally had a day out in style after months and months of lockdowns
Categories nyc

Leave a comment