Sleepless in the US

Remember not being able to fall asleep on Christmas Eve?  Or the day before a trip to Six Flags? Or the night before the science fair?

That was me at last night.  The night before a Skype interview with a school in Qatar. Despite interviewing for Abu Dhabi last week in New York, despite receiving an offer letter from them (again), and despite receiving another invitation to interview with a school in S. Korea, I was super excited about interviewing for Qatar.

If you’re looking for more information about moving abroad and teaching in Qatar, you should check out my fellow teacher/blogger American Teacher Abroad.  Kennesha has been inspiring me from the start and to have her rooting for me in this endeavor has been a great support!

For me, my fascination with Qatar’s school system is their initiative to offer the leading international education experience. They are very forward-thinking in their curriculum design and offer an International Baccalaureate program.  I believe my teaching style and philosophy is most in line with the IB Program.

At 6 am (2 pm in Qatar) I settled into our building’s conference room and prepared to interview.  Via Skype, I met two lovely ladies, one a school director and the other a school principal.  In addition to asking me questions, they described their school’s vision and learning environment.  Some of their questions included:

  • What would I see walking into your classroom?
  • What has been your experience teaching students with limited English language skills?
  • How do you keep children in this age group (middle school) engaged?
  • What assessments do you give and how do you use the data?

It was very easy to speak with my interviewers.  They seemed truly interested in pursuing my application until we got the question:

  • Are you married? Single? Do you have any dependents?

I feel like at that point, they took a step back and said

“It will be a few weeks before we make any decisions…”

 

In the meantime, I will sign the Abu Dhabi offer letter and email it back to my recruiter.  I will check my email every few minutes.  I will message my fellow interviewees and see how they are getting along with the process of moving abroad.  I will wait….sleepless in the US.

Check out some of these blogs by teachers currently teaching in the UAE…I haven’t found too many by teachers in Qatar (most blogs are several years old) so feel free to share!

Amber in the UAE:

http://ivyinthesand.blogspot.com/2016_11_01_archive.html

Jen in the UAE:

http://myjourneytouae.blogspot.com/

2 thoughts on “Sleepless in the US

  1. Best of luck to you! Qatar seems lovely, they were also on my list and it’s just 1.5 hours plane ride away from Abu Dhabi. I’m going to get the contact info from my school for next year’s job openings. And thanks for the blog shout out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

