A Dream Deferred

It was all a dream. 

I dreamt I signed a contract to teach abroad. I dreamt I was offered more money than I make here. I dreamt I would have flight allowances to travel the world, a bonus each year, and housing provided for my family. It was all a dream. 

Yet, you’ve seen a picture of me signing a contract, right?  Today, that contract was rescinded and I am no longer headed to the UAE. My dream has been put on hold. The Abu Dhabi Education Council has decided they hired too many people so they cut a few. 


Crying and shaking I ran out of my building today, hoping no one would notice. As soon as I sat in my car, it started to downpour. I cried a good five minutes with the rain concealing me from others walking out of work. How? Why? 

I called my husband and choked out the news. I text my interview friends for support. I checked the 2016 Abu Dhabi groups on fb and found I was not the only one – so far I’ve counted 20 teachers who got the same sad news. What a cruel joke. 

I am not going to be a teacher for ADEC. Not this year, anyway. I’m not sure if ever. My heart feels a little broken. I’m upset for my family and the tears I may have caused others who were trying to make peace with our decision to move. I’m upset for my husband who did so much running around to get our paperwork together. I’m upset that I sold my favorite blue chair and beautiful swirly mirror during one of our yard sales!  I am so lucky my kids don’t quite get where we were headed or I’d be upset for them too. 

Is this a sign? Do I keep applying and searching for a job abroad? Or do I stay put here in New York, where I have a perfectly good job? Is this a dream deferred? Or canceled?

Categories nyc

12 thoughts on “A Dream Deferred

  1. My heart aches for you Nancy. This is truly unfortunate but I want you to remember my story from 3 years ago. I tried to work abroad and I was denied, denied, denied, but I did not give up and this year I was told YES 3 times. The time that we want things to happen may not always be the right time but you must “GET ON YOUR FEET, GET UP AND MAKE IT HAPPEN” I know you will shine and smile again very soon, my dear friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel a little funny liking this post, because what happened to you was awful, so instead I’m liking it to show my support for you — what a horrible, terrible, awful, thoughtless thing. Deferred dreams can feel soul-crushing (been there, done that). This is a terrible setback, but if you truly want to teach abroad, there are other schools and other programs out there that you can apply to, and hopefully they will treat you with the respect that you deserve. You can make this happen. Do you still dream of teaching abroad? Does that still appeal to you? Then don’t give up — simply move on to another interview, another application. Fun? Not at all, but better than giving up.

    Stay strong!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your post was so powerful that I had to read it to my husband. Thank you, Natalie! We are not giving up. Thank you for acknowledging how disrespectful this was to us and all the teachers who were cut. Some sold their homes and quit their jobs! We will be ok and, eventually, we will teach around the world!

      Like

      1. I’m so glad to hear that you haven’t given up — and I’m touched that my post meant so much to you! Hang in there, and I look forward to seeing posts from you when you teach abroad 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Nancy, I found you in the community pool. I was so sad when reading your post, I really can’t imagine what you are going through. All I have to say is, don’t give up (just like many others already did say). You got accepted once, you definitely will again. But, look at this from another viewpoint. I believe in destiny, and it seems that this was meant to be. Maybe you will find a better position abroad, maybe you will get a better job at home, or maybe your family needed just some more time to get prepared for the move.

    It is pointless to say “don’t be sad.” But, do not let that sadness overcome you and stop you from moving forward in life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree – looking back I can see that whenever things went wrong in my life, it led to things that were right. I’m sure the reason for all of this will reveal itself in time. In the meantime, your words help ease the ache I feel in my heart. 💔

      Like

  4. I am so sad to hear that your dream of teaching in the UAE and all the plans you have already made have hit a wall. I was thinking about you when I read an article in The National newspaper earlier in June (http://www.thenational.ae/uae/warning-over-references-to-ministry-of-education-in-job-ads-for-teachers), and wondered how it would affect you. We don’t always know immediately why things happen the way they do, but I hope you can get up again, dust yourself off, face the world, and then dream a little bit bigger than the previous time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

