Interview # 2

It’s 5:20 am the morning of my Abu Dhabi Teaching Interview.  In 10 minutes, I’m jumping into the black-with-faint-pin-stripes-skirt-suit that looks pretty good despite being one size too small.  In 30 minutes I’ll be hopping onto an express bus bound for mid-town Manhattan where I will meet with the recruiter, submit a folder full of documents on USB and prepare to be interviewed.  I have not had to interview for a job in over 10 years.

Things remember:

  • I have 13 years of experience
  • I love teaching
  • I love children
  • Children seem to love being in my class if they don’t allow their teen angst to get in the way
  • This teaching abroad thing is probably going to be A LOT of work, so I really should just stay where I am
  • But I really want a new experience
  • And make sure my shirt buttons neatly across my chest at all times.  I can’t find a safety pin.

My interview with California English Schools in China was really casual via Skype.  The recruiter seemed to have every confidence that I could teach in China.  However, moving my family there was going to be a challenge, the salary may be lower than expected and I should really research where I want to live before he starts searching for a school for me.  Interesting.  I’m keeping it on the back burner for a week or two.

Qatar is next week and I think it’s my #1 choice.  Abu Dhabi has a lot of travel, sights and life-style to offer, but schooling my kids will be very pricey.  Again, I don’t even have a job offer yet.  What was I thinking, putting this all out there?

Wish me luck!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Interview # 2

      1. That is almost a guarantee. I agree respect is what we learn (should anyway) from our parents, but the influence there of society is so strong, especially on kids. I don’t know what ages yours are, if they are still young, obviously they won’t be affected, if they are 9+, kids are generally easily influenced by their peers and most kids there are raised by nannies who know nothing about respect. There is always the exception to the rule, though!

        Like

Leave a Reply

