The Beginning of a Huge Pile of Paperwork

I just enjoyed a 3-day weekend thanks to the observance of Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday.  Two years ago we went down to DC to see the new monument and tribute in the capitol.  I loved the quotes chosen that epitomize who he is and what he stands for.

This time around, however, I headed out with the babies to Riverhead, Long Island for a fun weekend with cousins.  My sisters and I have two children each.  6 kids, 3 moms and pure madness!  Initially, I sauntered into our hotel room at Hyatt Place, impressed by the size and comfy appearance of the beds.  I briefly sank into one bed and pictured a weekend of relaxation and peace.  Then all the kids walked in!  My Baby Z is 3 and Baby D is 1.  Gab and Belle are 9 and 7, Sof is 5, Allie is just turned 1 and not-born-yet-niece Olivia was no trouble at all!

I picked this hotel because there is an indoor pool, next door to the aquarium and near the shopping outlets.  I guess the thing I forgot about going to the pool is how tired you feel after swimming for longer than 15 minutes (We swam for a good hour actually).  I also forgot how hard it is to get in a nap without hubby around!  Last, I realized what FOMO means – “Fear Of Missing Out.”  NO ONE was getting any sleep when there were so many fun things to do!

The great thing about having kids is that everything is made new.  I take them to museums and events quite often because I just love to see their faces light up.  I love how excited they get over seemingly insignificant things!  Long Island Aquarium had a touch tank going and you would think we were the size of plankton with the way Baby Z reacted to the tiny crab and starfish at her finger tips!  “Mommy, let’s get out of here!” She cried when it was her turn to touch the crab.

I don’t know if I’m doing this parenting thing right by going out so much.  We have very few days of just sitting around the house.  I’ve heard you’re supposed to “let them be bored.”  But all I get out of staying home is more messes to clean up after and more requests to watch movies and youtube videos.  So we go out A LOT.

In the midst of all our weekend fun, I get an email from the recruiter saying “Congratulations!  You have been invited to interview in New York!”  YES! “Please upload pdf files of the following documents within the next 24 hours in order to schedule your interview.”

24 hours?!?  I’m 90 miles from home!  I quickly dial Souley, who is fortunately home.  With only one car and chilly weather, he wasn’t going anywhere this weekend.  He scanned and compiled the email within an hour.  We needed to send copies of my resume, medical form and passport.  Then wait some more for the date and location…

So I have to give props to my husband, Souley, who is so supportive of this whole process.  There are so many documents to fill out, scan, mail, copy, notarize, and eventually, authenticate.  He keeps it all together for me.  I may be a teacher with many years of experience with paperwork, but it has NOT made me like it more.  In fact, before becoming a teacher, I was a secretary for a few years.  I didn’t enjoy standing by the copy machine or running all around the exec offices for signatures.  Thankfully, I landed a job with a great boss, who after 3 months of working as her assistant said, “You shouldn’t be a secretary.  You should go to college.  You’re smarter than this.”  I firmly believe she wasn’t just trying to get me to move on but rather encourage me to reach my full potential.  I started at LIU the following September.

Our last night out East, it snowed significantly. Actually,  I don’t know if it even reached an inch, but it made for a pretty view.  Baby Z begged to play in the snow, but it was definitely below zero out there.  We headed home Monday afternoon and I see an email from Teachaway with an interview date.  “February 2, 2016”  Only two weeks away!

Things to do:

  • Get reference letters from my AP’s
  • Finish putting together my teaching portfolio
  • Fill out the Introductory Statement
  • Take passport photos for the visa

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

